The Friday Five

It’s Friday! It’s the end of the week, there are more books to explore over the weekend, and I am seeing Pitch Perfect 2 tonight which means this whole day is going to be aca-mazing. I thought I’d give a quick run-down of some cool happenings in the YA book world to help kick your weekend off right.

one_saintanything

Sarah Dessen kicked off her Saint Anything book tour yesterday. Let me just say, firstly, that Sarah Dessen is essentially my most favorite YA author of all time. Secondly, I’m very jealous of anyone who happens to be in the cities that she’s touring to. For some reason, she isn’t coming anywhere near my own home base. Check out the dates below and let me know if you’re planning to see her. Could I send you my copy of Saint Anything for her to sign? Maybe? Please? I haven’t gotten to crack open the book yet but it’s waiting patiently for me on my kitchen table. Soon!

FRIDAY MAY 15TH AT 4PM – BOSTON, MA

Wellesley Books
82 Central Street
Wellesley, MA 02482

SATURDAY MAY 16TH AT 11AM – ROCHESTER, NY
Rochester Teen Book Festival
Nazareth College
4245 East Avenue, Rochester NY 14618

SUNDAY MAY 17TH AT 12:30 PM – RHINEBECK, NY
Oblong Books & Music
6420 Montgomery Street
Rhinebeck, NY 12572-1356

TUESDAY MAY 19TH AT 7PM – RALEIGH, NC

Quail Ridge Books
Ridgewood Shopping Center,
3522 Wade Ave, Raleigh, NC 27607

THURSDAY, MAY 28th AT 7PM – PRINCETON, NJ

Barnes and Noble Princeton/Market Fair
3535 US Highway 1 Suite 400
Princeton, NJ 08540

SATURDAY MAY 30th – NEW YORK CITY

Bookcon:::  BFFs Forever

Panel with Jenny Han and Gayle Forman
11:30AM-12:30PM Room 1A23

THURSDAY JUNE 4TH AT 7pm – DURHAM, NC

Regulator Bookshop
720 9th St
Durham, NC 27705

SATURDAY JUNE 20TH AT 7pm – ASHEVILLE, NC

Malaprops Bookstore
55 Haywood St
Asheville, NC 28801

THURSDAY, JULY 23RD AT 3PM – FALMOUTH, MA

Eight Cousins Bookstore
189 Main St
Falmouth, MA 02540

two_youthesun

Are you looking for a book club to join for the summer, but don’t feel like committing to sitting around at a stranger’s house sipping wine while you dissect the true meaning behind Edward’s sparkliness in Twilight? I thought so. Lucky for you, Amazon’s got you covered. They’re launching a YA Book Club (YAY!) and you can join the group online. That means you can sit in your pajamas, with your cat, munching on chocolate while you read and discuss… and no one will ever have to know. Their first book selection for May/June is I’ll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson. Do yourself a favor and read this book, even if you aren’t going to join the book club. The book is super fantastic. Seriously. So this book club has a GoodReads discussion link attached to it. You’ll be able to submit questions for the authors, which sounds pretty rad. If you’re up for it, take a look here!

three_papertowns

There’s a new commercial out for the film adaptation of John Green’s Paper Towns. I’m a little wary of this movie, only because I never anticipated the book turning into a film. I know there’s talk of Looking For Alaska becoming a movie, and that makes me even more terrified. Sometimes it’s nice letting the characters only live on the page — or in your head. I think when a book becomes a movie, some of the magic gets lost. I can no longer read Harry Potter without picturing Daniel Radcliffe and Rupert Grint and Emma Watson. It’s a little sad.

four_bustleMaylist

I don’t know if you ever experienced this as a teen / tween, but do you remember when your public library put out a summer reading list? Most kids scoffed at reading MORE over the summer since school just ended, but that wasn’t the case for me. I essentially lived for that list because it helped me discover a ton of new authors I wouldn’t have otherwise known. Bustle put together a solid listing of new YA books coming out in May to get you through those long summer days.

five_freadom

What are you to do when your favorite novel ends up on the Banned Book list? Rebel and read it anyway. This year, Banned Books Week is going to be focusing on Young Adult novels. I always like going down the list of books that have been banned to see which ones I’ve already read. I really don’t fully understand how people can get away with making arbitrary rules about which books are OK to read, and which aren’t. Banned Books Week kicks off in September this year, but maybe scan the list and take your picks early.

And that wraps up this Friday Five! Have a fab weekend everyone!

3 thoughts on “The Friday Five

  1. As for Saint Anything, those lucky people! I’m looking forward to I’ll Give You the Sun; it’s on my TBR. And the book club, of course, sounds awesome! I haven’t read Paper Towns yet, but I’ve heard it’s even better than tfios. What do you think? I will definitely check out the summer reading list, always looking for new authors!
    -Amy

    Like

    1. Hi Amy! Thanks for the comment 🙂

      I’ve read Paper Towns and I liked it. But I loved Looking for Alaska more. TFIOS was great, but I remember reading it before it became the crazy phenomenon it has become now. I’ve been a fan of John Green’s for years. I remember picking up An Abundance of Katherines way back in my freshman year of college, on a whim. Either way, I think I’ll probably see the Paper Towns movie. I saw a full trailer for it last night when I went to see Pitch Perfect, and damn it, it sucked me in.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Of course!
        I heard both paper towns and looking for Alaska are amazing. I actually have a copy of tfios, but (don’t shoot me!) I haven’t actually read ANY John Green books… I’m getting there! 🙂 Paper Towns looks like an awesome movie. I might have to check it out too. 🙂
        -Amy

        Like

Leave a Reply

