Beginnings and Endings

On Monday’s on this blog, I’d like to hear from my readers (few and far between as they may be)! I was thinking that the beginning of the week is pretty blah. No one ultimately loves Monday’s, it’s always a struggle to get back into a routine after the weekend, and there needs to be some positivity around these parts.

So for this Monday, I want to get your thoughts on the best beginnings and endings of novels you’ve read recently. I’m talking, powerful first lines and those last few words at the end that have always stayed with you.

Feeling shy? I’ll start:

Book? More Than This by Patrick Ness.

WE BEGIN:::::::::

“Here is the boy, drowning.”

So, damn. That sums it up right quick, doesn’t it? This sentence is no-nonsense, no questions asked, no major explanation needed. Of course, the following sentences after it give you way more information about why, exactly, that boy is drowning. But it just hangs out, right from the get-go, punching you in the face with the directness of it all.

AND WE END:::::::::

“Are you ready?” his friends ask him. He thinks, Yes. He thinks, Go in swinging. And he says, “I’m ready.”

Don’t let these words fool you into thinking they’re simplistic and useless. They’re not. These words just about gutted me when I read them, in the context of the rest of the book, because everything comes full circle and it’s brilliant. Patrick Ness impressed the hell out of me with this book (I only got a chance to read it a few months ago) and it has become one of my favorite favorites.

So now it’s your turn…

What are some great beginnings and endings for your favorite reads?

Leave a Reply

